Department of
Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine

Center for Innovation in Pain Care News

Dr. Ajay Wasan Wins AAPM Founders Award


Congratulations to Ajay D. Wasan, MD, MSc, who has been selected as a 2022 recipient of the American Academy of Pain Medicine (AAPM) Founders Award. The Founders Award is given for outstanding contributions for the basic or clinical science of pain medicine or for demonstration of clinical excellence or innovation in the practice of pain medicine.

The AAPM will present the award to Dr. Wasan at their 2023 Annual Meeting in Ft. Lauderdale, FL at the Innovation Challenge After Party on Saturday, March 25.

Dr. Ajay Wasan Ranks Among Top 10 NIH-Funded Anesthesiology Investigators in 2022


Ajay D. Wasan, MD, MSc, was a top 10 National Institutes of Health-funded investigator in anesthesiology in fiscal year (FY) 2022, per the recently released NIH funding rankings from the Blue Ridge Institute for Medical Research. This good news comes on top of our department’s rise in ranking to the top five NIH-funded anesthesiology departments in the nation.

Congratulations, Dr. Wasan!!



Dr. Jacques Chelly Appointed to ASA Research and Pain Medicine Committees


Congratulations to Jacques E. Chelly, MD, PhD, MBA, who was appointed as an adjunct member to the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Committee on Pain Medicine and Committee on Research.

Both committee appointments are for a two-year term and will become effective at the close of the second session of the House of Delegates at the annual ASA meeting in October 2022 and conclude in October 2024.