Department of
Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine


Becoming a Fellow of the American Society of Anesthesiologists (FASA™) is the American Society of Anesthesiologists’ (ASA’s) highest acknowledgment that recognizes years of dedication to exceptional education, leadership and commitment to the specialty. The FASA designation identifies and promotes ASA members exhibiting the highest standards in professionalism/leadership, advocacy for the profession and patient safety, and education. Becoming a FASA is a prestigious honor in the specialty, setting its designees apart from their peers. The criteria required for earning the FASA designation demonstrates a candidate’s commitment to advancing the practice and securing the future of anesthesiology.

Currently, 18 faculty members from our department have earned the prestigious FASA designation:

  • Phillip Adams, DO, FASA

  • Shawn T. Beaman, MD, FASA

  • Michael W. Best, MD, FASA, Maj, USAFR

  • Charles D. Boucek, MD, FASA

  • Tomas Drabek, MD, PhD, FASA
  • Trent D. Emerick, MD, MBA, FASA
  • Denise Hall-Burton, MD, FASA
  • Andrew Herlich, DMD, MD, FAAP, FASA
  • Stephen M. McHugh, MD, FASA
  • William R. McIvor, MD, FASA
  • David G. Metro, MD, FASA
  • Kristin M. Ondecko Ligda, MD, FASA
  • Rita M. Patel, MD, FASA
  • Raymond M. Planinsic, MD, FASA
  • Senthil Sadhasivam, MD, MPH, MBA, FASA
  • Tetsuro Sakai, MD, PhD, MHA, FASA
  • Erin A. Sullivan, MD, D.ABA, FASA
  • Keith M. Vogt, MD, PhD, FASA