Department of
Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine

AUA Members

The mission of the Association of University Anesthesiologists (AUA) is to advance the art and science of anesthesiology by encouraging its members to pursue original investigations in the clinic and in the laboratory, develop the method of teaching anesthesiology, and freely and informally interchange ideas. Being selected as a member of the AUA reflects strong endorsement of that member’s stature as a national leader who has contributed to the advancement of the specialty in academic medicine by their peers and institutions. AUA members are nominated and elected based on excellence in teaching, administration, and research.

Currently, 26 department faculty have earned the distinction of AUA membership:

  • Phillip Adams, DO, FASA
  • Bruce Ben-David, MD
  • Jacques E. Chelly, MD, PhD, MBA
  • Franklyn P. Cladis, MD
  • Peter Davis, MD
  • Andrew Herlich, MD, DMD, FAAP, FASA
  • Ibtesam Hilmi, MB ChB, FRCA

  • Mark E. Hudson, MD, MBA
  • James W. Ibinson, MD, PhD
  • Murat Kaynar, MD, MPH
  • Grace Lim, MD, MSc

  • Aman Mahajan, MD, PhD, MBA

  • David G. Metro, MD, FASA
  • Etsuro Motoyama, MD
  • Steven L. Orebaugh, MD
  • Rita M. Patel, MD, FASA
  • Raymond Planinsic, MD, FASA
  • Joseph Quinlan, MD
  • Tetsuro Sakai, MD, PhD, MHA, FASA
  • Erin Sullivan, MD, FASA
  • Keith M. Vogt, MD, PhD
  • Ajay Wasan, MD, MSc
  • Jonathan Waters, MD
  • Brian Williams, MD, MBA

  • John Williams, MD

  • Yan Xu, PhD
  • Li-Ming Zhang, MD