Department of
Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine

Alumni Fund

Please help us continue our tradition of excellence by supporting our department with your tax-deductible gift. Whether you choose to contribute toward our research initiatives, educational programs, or other area of need, your generosity is sincerely appreciated at any level. Philanthropic giving to our department plays an important role in helping us improve the lives of patients throughout Western Pennsylvania and all over the world by giving us more opportunities to train the best and brightest clinicians and discover new and better treatment plans. 

Honorary or Memorial Gifts
A gift made in honor or memory of an individual is a thoughtful way to recognize the accomplishments of or remember a loved one, friend, or colleague.

Gift Matching
Many corporations will match an employee’s personal donations. This additional support can double or even triple the value of your gift. Contact the Human Resources department at your workplace to get more information on the options they offer

How to Give
Gifts can be made in several ways.

  • By check: please make checks payable to University of Pittsburgh Physicians. If you wish to give to a specific department initiative or would like your gift to honor or memorialize an individual, please designate this information on the memo line. Please direct all gifts to Barb Novak Chismar, Department of Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine, 3471 Fifth Avenue, Suite 402 Kaufmann Building, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
  • By credit card: please contact Barb Novak Chismar​ at 412-692-4505 or ​
  • Through appreciated securities, personal property and real estate, bequests and planned gifts, or other methods: please contact Barb Novak Chismar​ at 412-692-4505 or ​ 


We gratefully acknowledge the individuals below who have contributed to the Alumni Fund. Thank you for your generous donations.

a diamond

$1,000-4,999: Diamond

Dr. Mark Backeris​
Dr. Barbara Brandom
Dr. Paul Bigeleisen​
Dr. Jacques Chelly​
Dr. Richard Fairtile
Dr. Catherine Marcucci
Dr. David Metro
Dr. Rita Patel
Dr. Jan Smith
Dr. John Williams

a ruby

$500-999: Ruby

Dr. Meera Appaswamy
Dr. Saryu Desai
​Dr. Patrick Forte
Dr. Li Meng

a sapphire

$100-499: Sapphire

Dr. Jennifer Adams
Dr. Gretchen Jesick Brula​
Dr. Neal Campbell 
Dr. Joan Carroll
Dr. Antonion Casseara
Dr. AJ Carvelli
Dr. Kevin Chaitoff
Dr. Sofronio De La Vega
Dr. Tomas Drabek
Dr. Pavel Gatynya
Dr. Mark Gorchesky
Dr. Cynthia Jenson
Dr. Sanjoy Joshi 
Dr. Wendy Kang Owen
Dr. John Koncelik
Dr. Robert Krohner
Dr. Tinh Lam
Dr. Slava Martyn
Dr. Frederick McAlpine
Dr. Etsuro Motoyama
Dr. Juhan Paiste
Dr. Donna Lucas Pelligrini
Dr. Ryan Romeo
Dr. Peggy Seidman
Dr. Jack Scott
Dr. Elizabeth Sinz
Dr. Martin Sokoll
Dr. Joseph Talarico
Dr. Vani Venkatarmanappa
Dr. Charles Yang
Dr. Mark Weech
Dr. Elliott Weinstock
Dr. Brian Williams
Dr. John Zeedick​

an opal

$25-99: Opal

Dr. James Cain
Dr. Joseph DeRenzo
Dr. J. Mauricio Del Rio
Dr. Venkat Mantha
Dr. Eddrice McMullen
Dr. Yuriy Medvid
Dr. Henry Malarkey, IV
Dr. Mahesh Mallikarjun
Dr. Andrew Murray
Dr. Leo Musacchia
Dr. Kenneth Rothfield
Dr. Mohanad Shukry
Dr. Stephen Stalenski
Dr. Christopher Stemland
Dr. Keith L Stein
Dr. Stephen Strelec
Dr. Kenichi Tanaka
Dr. Manuel Vallejo
Dr. E. Lynne Williams